Joy Coghill at National Theatre School's 50th Reunion
Joy acknowledging applause at
the National Theatre School's
50th Reunion in 2010.
In attendance were all the recipients of the Gascon/Thomas Award, of which Joy and Gratien Gelinas were the first, in 1990.
2016 UBCP/ACTRA Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award.
2015 City of Vancouver Mayor’s Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement.
2010 The Gemini Humanitarian Award for 2010. This award is presented to an individual for their exceptional contributions and commitments to community and public service outside the Canadian television industry.
2007 The Leslie Yeo Award for Excellence in Volunteerism for 2007, by Actra Fraternal Benefit Society.
2006 The Senior Leadership Award for Service to Education and Aging, Simon Fraser University, Vancouver.
2005 Vancouver Arts Awards, Performing Arts Category. It is given for "distinguished service to the city in Performing Arts." The award also came with a $5,000 prize to be given away to someone else in the performing arts. Joy had worked with young actor and playwright Kevin Loring in a 2001 production of Margaret Edson's play Wit. Joy chose to give this money to Loring.
2005 Union of British Columbia Performers John Juliani Award of Excellence.
2002 Governor General's Performing Arts Award in Drama.
2002 Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal, celebrating Queen Elizabeth's 50-year reign. Given for outstanding contributions to Canada.
2000 Best National News Commentary (radio) Radio Television News Directors Association for Best Regional News Commentary (radio) R.T.N.D.A.
1999 Significant artistic achievement "Jessie" award to Western Gold Theatre for a "unique mandate and contribution to theatre community".
1996 The Herbert Whittaker Critic's Association Award for outstanding contribution to Canadian Theatre.
1995 Canadian Actors' Equity Association Life Membership for service to theatre.
1995 Honorary degree, University of British Columbia.
1994 Honorary degree, Simon Fraser University.
1992 The Confederation Medal 1867-1992, honouring Canadians who have made a significant contribution to Canada.
1991 Member of The Order of Canada (C.M.)

"It is fitting that one of the great talents of Canadian theatre should receive this honour. Your impressive achievements, both as a performer and as teacher, have been an inspiration to countless aspiring actors. Your dedication to the arts has greatly contributed to the cultural richness of Canada."

Minister of Communications Marcel Masse, February 1991
1991 Jessie Richardson Theatre Award for outstanding performance by an actress for The Road to Mecca with the Arts Club Theatre.
1991 Province People's Choice Award, outstanding performance by an actor for The Road To Mecca.
1990 The Gascon-Thomas Award from the National Theatre School. Every year the theatre school gives an award to two theatre figures who have made an exceptional contribution to the growth of theatre in Canada and whose examples serve as an inspiration for the students of the School.
1990 Vancouver Professional Theatre Alliance Award (Jessie) Community Recognition Award for "Homework and Curtains" (TouchstoneTheatre).
1989 Vancouver Professional Theatre Alliance Award (Jessie), for Lifetime of Service.
1986 The Sam Payne Award, ACTRA, given for "one who works at her craft diligently and consistently." On receiving the award Joy presented several of her long-time colleagues and associated with flowers, in recognition of their contribution to her development as an actor.
1986 Y.W.C.A Woman of Distinction Award, Vancouver.
1986 The Sam Payne Award, ACTRA
1977 Silver Jubilee Medal, celebrating Queen Elizabeth's 25-year reign. Given for contributions to Canada.
1967 Canada Centennial Medal
1963 Canadian Drama Award
196l Dominion Drama Festival Acting Award
1942 Best Actress Award in the B.C. Drama Festival

Joy Coghill, portrayed in ACTRA magazine, on her winning of the Leslie Yeo Award

Joy Coghill, portrayed in ACTRA magazine,
on her winning of the Leslie Yeo Award